Meet Gus… a fish of gold!

Gus, a true fish of gold!

I thought it would be good to introduce you to my pet goldfish Gus.  Gus has quite the story for such a scaley little fellow.  First, let me tell you that he is not just any fish, but a fish that  is now over 6 years old and has traveled from Kansas to Oregon. As many know and have experienced, once goldfish are  “home” it is a gamble as to how long they will survive in their new environment.  Gus has lived his entire life from this clear yet distorted blown glass bowl and could not be happier!  I bought him at a super Wal-Mart in Salina, Kansas for a whopping &.10 during freshman orientation day…. in 2003!  So, his “home” life just surpassed 6 years. Can you believe it?

I brought him home to my dorm room in August of 2003 with 2 buddies but he was the only one still alive by day 2. I had high hopes for him but wanted to wait on giving him an official name. Each day was a pleasent suprise when I woke to see him still swimming! He made it through my first semester but I was flying home for Christmas break and had to leave him to “finn” for himself.  No fish on the plane… obviously (even if he fit in a 3 ounce container).  I left a note on my dorm door that said “if anyone has a key to this room that sees this message, please feed  my fish”!   I came back 2.5 weeks later to find little Gus still swimming! I don’t know if and how much he got to eat, but he was still alive!

Another semester came and went and Gus was still a-swimming! I decided it would be a good time to give him his official name. Gus is was!   Fish are the only “pet” allowed in the dorms so many try and most fail at keeping them alive with the exception of beta fish (which Gus has lived twice as long as my beta I got the same day).  Suprisingly, I did none of the different things that people try like treating the water, adding bubbles, heaters or constantly testing the Ph… I just used tap water and fed the little guy. He stayed in Kansas 2 full summers and 2 more Christmas breaks (this time in the good care of friends!).

He not only survived he thrived! Gus has quite the personality and began to recognize regular visitors to our room! If he did not know them he would swim to the back of his bowl and stare. If it was a regular attender he would come to front and dance back and forth in sheer excitement! As if he was shouting ….”People, I love people, I know you, feed me… feed me…!!”

His Kansas Christmas breaks were always a little rough though… this first one he spent hungry and the last one he spent a little too toasty…  He stayed with some good friends at their home and while they were away for Christmas weekend they had a problem with the heater in their house and it got so hot inside that candles melted into liquid.  They got home just in time before there were major issues… the water was so warm in Gus’ bowl that when they took him outside the water was steaming and he was on the top floating on his side…near belly up. Well, a trooper for sure because he bounced back for his “senior year” at college!  So in May of 2006 he made the road trip back to Oregon with my mom and my brother in his car since I had to stay to fly out for Track Nationals in CA. Since then Gus has grown steadily and has spent most of his time at home with his “grandparents”. 

He has spent time in a few places in KS, possibly went to OK and has been to my grandmas house, my aunt and uncles house a few times and already has many fans from his adventures thus far!

He may have a very large adventrue coming up this summer and beyond! We may have to see how he “finns” at 10,000 feet as an official  Lost Trail Ranch goldfish!  Him and Grill Chicken may be road trip buddies…  I will post the adventures and updates of both of my special pets as they happen!

3 thoughts on “Meet Gus… a fish of gold!

  1. Hey beka! It had been a while since reading your posts – I enjoyed catching up on some of your latest news and stories. That’s great that you are knitting. I recently learned how to crotchet, but have yet to finish the first project. I hope you have a happy hew year!

  2. Hi Emily! Thanks for the comment! 🙂 It is hard to update and add new posts when I have been so busy, but I do when I can! I have done some crotchet in the past – just a few hats, but knitting is neat too! Miss you!!

  3. Gus is truly amazing, quite a survivor! So you and Greg are considering spending the summer at Lost Trail Ranch?

Leave a Reply

