Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles

I am a cookie monster, lets just lay it out there.  I decided to try a cookie recipe out of my new baking book that mom gave me for my birthday (Bobs Red Mill Baking Book). I love it! It is full of awesome recipes that use a wide variety of flours. Anyways, I made snickerdoodles today because they have sounded good.  I will have to make them again before I would dare give any away because…. well…. 1. I forgot the salt which is a very important ingredient and 2. They look like potatoes, not really cookies.   It is more of a cross between a cookie, muffin and cake.  All I can say is up here in the mountains, they really rose to the occasion and got their own height.My snickerdoodle attempt

Here is the recipe – which I reccomend! I did not follow the directions exactly and kind of guess-timated some of the amounts, but I know they would work if the recipe is followed.  These cookies have a nice nutty flavor from the whole wheat.

Snickerdoodles

Preheat oven to 375 F

  • 2 Cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 Cup white flour
  • 1/2 Cup oat flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt

Sift the above together in bowl

  • 1 stick butter (1/4 lb) – softened
  • 1/2 Cup sugar

Cream butter and sugar in bowl then slowly add the vanilla, milk and eggs

  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/3 Cup milk

Fold the flour mixture into the wet mixture until just blended. Cover and refrigerate for about 20 minutes.

Mix together cinnamon and sugar and set aside for dipping

  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon mixed with
  • 2 T sugar

Make balls of dough and dip into the sugar mixture and place on a greased baking sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes or until light golden brown.

(should make about 2 dozen cookies)

5 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles

  1. Been wanting to share our recipe for snickerdoodles we make, but mine are little crunchy hard cakes. Tasty, but flat. I’ll have to try this and see…

    I can see from the photo (recognize the bowl and counter) you baked these up in the high country!

    • Gin,
      Yep, I made them in cabin 7 as you already know. I had a craving for snickerdoodles this week, and was hoping they would be flatter – more cookie like rather than a cookie that is not sure if it is supposed to be a cake, muffin or cookie. I was suprised they poofed up so much.

    • Your wonderful sister, my aunt Laura made some snickerdoodles and she sent some with me on the road – THOSE were wonderful! Oh goodness. Mom got me a really good baking book for my birthday and the recipe was in there (I guess I said that in the post) but it uses whole grains… so fun to learn ways to incorporate them in to favorites… like brownies I am going to try sometime! 🙂

Leave a Reply

