Honey and Banana Whole Wheat Bread

I baked this bread yesterday evening and it is wonderful. *Please note this recipe is intended for a bread machine. I am excited to make it in the future to try using it in all different ways. I am kind of a picky banana eater, once they are past that perfect ripeness and turning brown, I use them for baking because they the banana flavor is intensified. I was going to just make banana bread (quick) but wanted to try a yeast bread since I was out. 

Today I toasted a slice and spread peanut butter on it.  This would also taste wonderful with nutella spread on top, made into french toast, or even in a peanut butter and banana or honey sandwich.

Recipe (makes 2 lb loaf):

  • Add all the following ingredients to your bread machine in the order specified by your machine and select the “whole wheat setting”.
  • 2/3 Cup warm water
  • 1 1/2 T. butter or vegetable oil
  • 1/4 Cup honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 1/2 Cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 Cup bread flour
  • 1 banana sliced
  • 2 t. poppy seeds (optional)
  • 2 t. active dry yeast

I assumed this recipe would call for a “medium” banana, but I added two small (really ripe) bananas.  As the mixing started I checked on the dough consistency and I ended up adding more flour because the dough was way too wet and sticky (probably my extra banana).  I also took the bread out 15 minutes early as it was getting brown on top and felt done.  This recipe is not formulated for a specific bread machine, so it may need some slight adjustments. At first inspection, it did not seem to have worked…I cut into and the center did not have as much integrity as the outside, so I ate my slice and figured I would work on it for next time, but after it had cooled off it looked like a different product. So I was pleased after all.  At least on my first attempt,

I really enjoy making bread by hand, but when I am short on time I enjoy using the breadmachine that was once my great aunts. I would love to formulate a similar recipe made by hand, so hopefully someday when I get that right I can post that for those that don’t have a bread machine!

3 thoughts on “Honey and Banana Whole Wheat Bread

  1. I am going to have to make some more, it was really yummy! So, far my favorite is just toasted with PB and honey.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

